The Mental Militia Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Would it be worth it to you?  (Read 8835 times)

debra

Would it be worth it to you?
« on: January 04, 2007, 10:00:41 am »

While I'm an independent contractor, I do occasionally scan the help wanted ads to see what's available, including promising .gov jobs. I'm curious as to everyone's thoughts on if it would be worth it to you. Not the money, I mean (in most cases I'd be making less than I am now). But what about:

- Opening in the IT department of the local DMV/IRS/SSA/FBI office
 - Evidence technician (aka mini-CSI) or administrative coordinator at a commonly-known-as-corrupt sheriff's office
 - County bio-terrorism coordinator (who learns about disasters, etc first)

Would such positions -- with their obvious (but probably seldom utilized) benefits and opportunities  :ph34r: -- make it worth it to you to work for a government agency?
« Last Edit: January 04, 2007, 02:05:28 pm by debra »

velojym

Re: Would it be worth it to you?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2007, 10:02:03 am »

Yep. Best place for a sleeping wrench.

debra

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2007, 10:14:33 am »

^^^ That's a definite disadvantage to consider as well. Screwing up data in a corporation gets you fired; in a .gov office, it could get you jailed. OTOH, so can not filing your taxes, or driving without a license, or ....

Interesting.

I hope lots of others chime in, because I honestly don't know where I sit on such a complex issue, and I'd love to get more opinions.

debra

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2007, 10:32:39 am »

Well, I'm considering the question from a more, er, "pro-active" angle, in a very hypothetical way. (But I do like the idea of your pistol team, LOL! :D)

Eternal_Vigilance

• Taking other people's crap since '69
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2007, 11:19:26 am »