The Mental Militia Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Preparedness in college??  (Read 3247 times)

jkharrer

Preparedness in college??
« on: March 27, 2011, 01:28:46 pm »

So I'm a college student at USD, and I live in the dorms on campus. I believe in being prepared for the unexpected, but it's kind of hard to gather and maintain the necessary supplies (especially weapons!) in order to survive in a SHTF situation. Right now I've just got my BOB supplies locked up in a footlocker (I use my backpack for school, its comfortable). In my footlocker I've got my camelbak, water purification tabs, my M3 medic bag, a small waterproof bag with matches/tinder and a flattened roll of TP (essential), two MREs, a very small basic hygiene kit, a small am/fm hand crank radio, my surefire light, and a small tool kit (mostly bike/weapon stuff that isn't on a gerber tool), and of course my various knives/backup knives/backup backup knives, and the essential gerber multitool. All this fits in my BOB and only weighs about 45lbs which isn't too bad. If I had to GOOD, it would probably be by bike, and the situation would dictate where I went. Anybody have any suggestions for how I can be best prepared in a place like school? Thanks in advance!

jamie

Re: Preparedness in college??
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2011, 07:42:10 pm »

Go through your gear and cut weight. Strip the MREs,  get rid of redundant knives, etc. I don't see  any shelter, sleeping or cooking system.   Get a good sidearm, holster and magazine carriers with two extra (at least) magazines and practice enough to have some confidence and competence if you don't already have those things. Maybe join an IPSC or IDPA club.