The Mental Militia Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bodhran  (Read 1415 times)

Tipitaka

Bodhran
« on: August 07, 2013, 10:05:59 pm »

So, I went to the Dublin Irish Festival in Dublin Ohio. Normal enough I suppose. I saw a Bodhran for sale for cheap (last day of the fest, so the guy was selling stuff at a discount) and bought it to replace the one I've been playing for the last 7 years which I have grown out of. Then I went to a High Kings concert... and by chance... I ended up metting the band. Brian Dunphy played my drum (first person to do so since it was new). They said it was to give me a bit of their Awen (Artistic Inspiration/Muse/Mojo). So it renewed my determination to master the instrument.

Tipitaka

Re: Bodhran
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2013, 10:20:57 pm »

You can learn it too by following these 24 tutorials by Rónán Ó Snodaigh:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Kks-6c_tHA

Fun fact:
The origin of the frame drum (called a "Bodhran" in Ireland and Scotland) is unknown and its use is ubiquitous among the world's cultures. Theorhetically, you could play any comparable frame drum like the Irish play it.

Scarmiglione'

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2013, 09:54:42 am »

Yeah, the frame drum is everywhere, but only the Irish find the most limiting way possible to play it.  ;)
We've built a world safe for fools, and are overrun by them.

Tipitaka

« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2013, 07:29:40 pm »

Yeah, the frame drum is everywhere, but only the Irish find the most limiting way possible to play it.  ;)

The hardest for sure, but the fastest and most complex rhythm too.

Scarmiglione'

« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2013, 08:32:39 am »

I"ll disagree with that.